About Rwanda

Located in East Africa, Rwanda covers 24,668 square kilometers of land and 1,670 square kilometers of water, making it the 150th largest nation in the world with a total area of 26,338 square kilometers.

Rwanda became an independent state in 1962, after gaining its sovereignty from Belgium. The population of Rwanda is 12.2M (2017) and the nation has a density of 474 people per square kilometer.

The currency of Rwanda is the Rwanda Franc (RWF). As well, the people of Rwanda are referred to as Rwandan.

The dialing code for the country is 250 and the top level internet domain for Rwandan sites is .rw.

Rwanda shares land borders with 4 countries: Tanzania, Burundi, Uganda, and Democratic Republic of the Congo.

What Causes Most Deaths
Risk factors drive the most death and disability

Top ten annual notifiable diseases and conditions

Top ten causes of morbidity

Important links

Ministry of Health

Policy documents

Download the country's most recent Health Policy Documents