Kenya lifts movement ban in three counties Nairobi , Monday July 6, 2020

14 July, 2020 | |17 views

The Government of Kenya has lifted the inter-county cessation movement in and out of Nairobi, Mombasa and Mandera effective Tuesday 7,  2020 from 4.a.m.

The announcement by H.E  President Uhuru Kenyatta also extended the Nationwide Curfew from 9pm and 4am daily for another period of 30 days.

“In the next 21 days, we shall study patterns of interactions and the spread of the disease and any  trends that signal a worsening of the pandemic, we will have no choice but to return to the lock-down at zero-option,” President Uhuru warned and urged the public to exercise responsibility. “All must become their brothers and sisters keeper,” he added.

Following the advice of the National Security Council and the National Emergency Response Committee on the Coronavirus Pandemic,  the President also directed that places of worship will commence phased re-opening for congregational worship in strict conformity with all applicable guidelines and protocols, including the self-regulating guidelines developed by the Inter-Faith Council.

In line with the guidelines issued by the Inter-Faith Council,  the President said only a maximum of 100 participants will be allowed at each worship ceremony within a period of one hour but empathized that Sunday Schools and Madrassas shall remain suspended until further notice,

“During the worship, congregants under the age of 13 years or above the age of fifty-eight 58 years or persons with underlying conditions will not attend,” he noted.

On matters of Education, President Uhuru ordered the Ministry of Education jointly with all the stakeholders in the sector  to notify the public on the resumption of the 2020 Academic Calendar for Basic Education and Tertiary Institutions.

However, he clarified that there shall be no movement of public transport vehicles into and out of the areas previously under cessation of movement unless the public transport providers comply with all protocols developed by  Ministry of Health.

“To operate, Public Service Vehicles the operators will require mandatory certification from the Ministry of Health, in consultation with  Ministry of Transport,” he said.

He also announced that local air travel within the territory of the republic will reopen from Wednesday July 15, and International Air Travel from 1st August, 2020.  “But they will have to conform with all the applicable guidelines from both the Health Ministry and the local and international Civil Aviation authorities,” he added.


Be the first to comment!

Add new comment